Week 4

Imagery:

esierratextures289esierratextures272esierratextures202

 

 

 

 

 

 

Week in Review: This week started late because Monday was Labor Day. A nice break and I got to make music at my house. I worked on Julius Caesar in photoshop.

Self Guided Learning: After getting excited about this adventure of the 8bit music, I read tutorials and basics that I need for my first intro song to the bone health game. When at school I still watched Deke. I work on music in my free time because I really like to do it, but I am still searching for my core message. I mean purpose. You know what I mean. I swear I’ve been looking for my purpose since Forest of the Great. If that link is dead that’s because it’s my old website which we knew would get deleted eventually. I migrated it to my blogger so just look at the beginning weeks. Oh shoot I just remembered my secret long term goal. Yea, it’s chock full of purpose so I’m sure he will be fine with it. But it’s secret so I haven’t told him about it yet. We will see how he takes it (I really can’t guess these days if it’s yay or nay).

Week 4 Effort: I did the efforting to the utmost because I always do. I don’t know how but I guess that’s just what my TryHard part of me does. It just drives me forward and makes me get up early in the morning to work at MacLab. Rubric: You gave it your all: A

Week 5 Goal: My goal is to text my buddies in crime to make the secret goal finally work. I have been hinting at this goal for so long so I want to at least get a little progress. This thought child has been cooking for some time now and I think it is ready. It’s gunna be great fun and might score me that GuildX that I’ve wanted.

Long Term Goal: My long term goal(s) hasn’t(haven’t) changed much, but I think I am going to add one. I want to use MilkyTracker to make a true 8bit song for our game. I already put some ideas down for the intro song. I create the melodies and notes in another program such as GarageBand, so then when I go to MilkyTracker I already have the whole song planned out. This way it would be much easier to make, because I would be translating my ideas faster in GarageBand. The intro is a short chiptune that is quite catchy if I do so say myself. A good place to start with 4 instruments. There is a snare (it’s gunna just be pink noise), a bass kick (a fluctuating sine wave), a lead (saw wave), and a cymbal (a gritty square wave). Sure I could add pads or something in the background, but maybe I will add on to it after I build the core melody into MilkyTracker.

@Home: I played around with MilkyTracker at home, and saw this tutorial because it was intimidating at first. This will be a perfect free program that runs on mac to use for the platformer game that the bone health team wants to make. I used this years ago (2010 maybe?) and never knew how to get farther with music. But now that I’m creating works like this and this, I’m confident I can set up an 8 bit looping song that will go perfectly with our 2d game.

Author: icebear

I am a student in Digital Arts.

Leave a comment